Fat Old Blind Man

FAT OLD BLIND MAN

 

As I sat at the desk in my room, on a very boring Sunday morning, missing my  wife, Lorraine, and feeling a little sorry for myself, I thought about the difficulties of being blind, and of the twenty or so other blind or nearly blind persons who were with me at the VA’s Southwest Blind Rehabilitation Center (SWBRC) in Tucson, Arizona. They, like me, were being helped to become more independent and function, given reasonable accommodation, as nearly as possible as a sighted person. In spite of the boredom and missing my sweet Lorraine, I suddenly realized how fortunate I am. I have a loving and caring wife, loving and caring children and grandchildren (not to mention great-grandchildren), my health is reasonably good, except for the curses associated with being part of the Geriatric crowd, and I am enjoying the fulfillment of my life-long goal of being an author. What more could a fat, old blind man ask for?

 

Visit my web site http://www.jamesorytheall.com and also “poke me”, “un-like me”, or whatever the heck we are supposed to do on Face Book!

 

Have a great week…JOT (short text for “just old and tired”).

About jotauthor@gmail.com

published author, louisiana cajun, blind, former resident of Omaha, NE, retired, married, father, brother, grandfather, great-grandfather, uncle, member longmont writers club
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

