MURDER AT TWO RIVERS

SHAMEFUL!

Once again, I’ve neglected this site. Seems there are never enough hours in the day, and it has been a busy time.

 

AN INVITATION

To anyone who would like to be a guest blogger on this site. Send your submission to jot2321@centurylink.net as an e-mail attachment, preferably as a WORD file. I will consider all submissions. Please keep the language suitable for family reading, and please SPELL CHECK YOUR WORK!

 

MURDER AT TWO RIVERS

My newest novel in the Mike Delo series is currently being edited and made ready for publication. This one has been a fun project, as have all of my other novels and so far, I’m very pleased with it.

 

HERE’S AN EXCERPT FROM THE COMING THRILLER:

“Over here,” Smokey yelled at me, motioning me to come.

I moved quickly. “What?”

She pointed with her forefinger. “Look there, a partial footprint, and see the trampled grass and broken branches leading toward the river?”

I checked and suspected the boot of the perpetrator had made the footprint.      “Come on, let’s go,” I said, and headed for the river, following the obvious trail the scumbag had left.

The trail left by the mystery man did not appear subtle. That worried me a bit. I heard Smokey right behind me. She hadn’t wavered for a moment.

I slowed down and put my hand back, palm facing her. We stopped.

“What?” she asked.

I put my index finger to my lips. “This damn trail is too easy. I don’t like it. We might be headed for a trap or an ambush,” I whispered.

“Hmmmm, you might be right. What’ll we do?”

“First thing is we split up and get off this trail. You circle around to the left, and I’ll do the same on this side, and please be careful,” I said. “Now go, and be quiet.”

She smirked and took off without hesitation. She disappeared from my line of sight and I moved off the path. Three minutes later, I spotted our guy on a sandbar in the middle of the river. From the prone position, behind a slight levy he had built, he held a handgun pointed in the direction of the trail he had left.

“Drop the gun! Now, dammit!” I yelled.

I apparently surprised him. He turned toward me for just a second, then quickly turned back and raised the gun in Smokey’s general direction.

I did not hesitate. I yelled a warning to Smokey and repeatedly pulled the trigger. I saw two or three flashes from the muzzle of his gun. I kept firing until the head covered with the ski mask turned. He began crawling toward the opposite side of the sandbar and toward the water, disappearing into the brush on the far bank. Between the shots, I heard Smokey scream in pain. I let the perpetrator go.

I ran to her as fast as I could. She lay on her side, a puddle of blood already starting to pool around her head…

 

HOW DID DETECTIVE MIKE DELO AND HIS LATEST LOVE INTEREST, DETECTIVE ALICIA SMOLINSKY (aka SMOKEY) GET INTO THIS SITUATION?

Hopefully, you will be able to find out very soon. My target date (which is not always when things happen) for the book’s availability to readers is October 1, 2015. Watch for the announcement!

 

AS USUAL

My lovely, kind, and generous wife, Lorraine, is designing the cover for the book, as well as doing the editing and formatting. I couldn’t even begin to put something like this novel together without her invaluable assistance. She has written several genealogical books (including one on my family), several articles in genealogical publications, has had short stories published in local periodicals, and has contributed several items to our Longmont Writers Club Anthologies and the several anthologies of the Longmont Public Library. She is currently working on her third book, a collection of short stories about the two fictional characters she created some time ago. The little old ladies, Sophie and Jenny, will keep you laughing, and sometimes crying. Watch for her announcement. Her target date is similar to mine. You will love the stories!

 

NEWSLETTER SOON TO BE LAUNCHED

Watch for my new E-Mail Newsletter which will be announced on this page, as well as Facebook and other social media. Be ready to sign up to receive the bits of news, tips about good books by other authors, interesting blogs by others, and an occasional excerpt from one of my novels or short stories.

 

MEANWHILE

Sign up for notifications of new posts and comments on this page. Scroll down. It’s easy and just takes a few seconds.

 

THANKS TO ALL

who support me in these projects! It’s no fun unless I know someone will enjoy the work, or at least reads and comments on why he/she did not enjoy it! Please, always review books you read, and I don’t mean just mine. All authors rely heavily on this type of feedback to improve their writing skills and to know what readers are looking for in reading material.

 

A votre santé!

 

J.O.T.

 

About jotauthor@gmail.com

published author, louisiana cajun, blind, former resident of Omaha, NE, retired, married, father, brother, grandfather, great-grandfather, uncle, member longmont writers club
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

